A Belated Goodbye and a Prolonged Hello

Yep, so it’s a new year again.  And, for the vast majority of writers on the internet, that is a perfect topic to discuss.  I’m a bit late, but I thought I would jump on that bandwagon, so here we go.

2015 was a pretty darn eventful year for me.  I wrote my first ever full length play, completed my last season of speech, chose a college, produced that full length play, graduated high school, moved nearly four hours away from home, started college, made an entirely new and wonderful set of friends, dug into my relationship with God in a new and unprecedented way, participated in my first collegiate play, and finished my first semester of college.

That was a lot.

And although the year included a tremendous amount of change, the vast majority of it was a fundamentally good year.  But a good thing can become spoiled if we hold on to it past its time, so I am more than ready to be done with 2015 and start fresh in the new year.

One of the few lows in a year of bright spots was the passing away of my grandfather just before Christmas.  He was 91 years old and although he had been battling a myriad of health issues for many years, he was diagnosed with an incredibly aggressive cancer a month before he passed away.

Although it is undeniably a sorrowful thing, the circumstances really allowed for many blessings in that when we found out about his diagnosis, almost the entire family got together to see him (which is quite a feat considering he had seven children).  Also, he did not endure the pain of the cancer for a long, drawn-out period and for that we are thankful.

Anyway, I did have a point for throwing all of that downer stuff in this post about beginnings.  You see, at my grandpa’s funeral, we sand the song I Know that My Redeemer Lives, and that is what made such a heartrending event something I will cherish into 2016.

I know that my Redeemer lives;
What comfort this sweet sentence gives!
He lives, He lives, who once was dead;
He lives, my ever-living Head.

He lives triumphant from the grave,
He lives eternally to save,
He lives all-glorious in the sky,
He lives exalted there on high.

He lives and grants me daily breath;
He lives, and I shall conquer death:
He lives my mansion to prepare;
He lives to bring me safely there.

He lives, all glory to His name!
He lives, my Jesus, still the same.
Oh, the sweet joy this sentence gives,
“I know that my Redeemer lives!”

I never realized quite how bold of a song this was until I sang it at a funeral.  This is a blatant cry of victory to throw with perfect certainty and confidence in the face of the conquered death.  We know, beyond a shadow of a doubt, that our Redeemer lives.  Nothing can change that fact and nothing can defeat it.

As I jump head-first into 2016, this is the most important message I want to save from last year.  I know that my Redeemer lives.  And because he lives I too have life, and have abundantly for the sharing.  I will live this year like the conqueror that I am through the life of my Saviour and go where he sends me to bring his victory to the world.

So yes, another year is gone, but a new one has just begun.  A year chocked full of opportunities and gifts and most importantly the love of Christ.  With that knowledge fueling you, I pray that you have a blessed New Year.

What are you thinking?

