River of Time Fanfiction Part 5

Here are parts one, two, three, and four.

Hope you enjoy!

We spent the next hour trying to decide what would be the best thing to do.  Eventually, we decided to leave nearly everything in the apartment.  I took my massive tote bag, which I was so glad to have found, stuffed with a few changes of clothes, the gold, and a few other things I thought we might need.

When we finally got out of the apartment, I had Luca wearing his clothes just slightly wrong so that he would look like a modern actor.  It was the best we could do for the moment, but he agonized over it all the way to the nearest clothing store.  To be honest, I thought it was kind of funny, and some of the looks we were drawing were straight up hilarious.

“Americano?” the store owner asked as we walked through the door, the little bell tinkling merrily.  She eyed Luca’s odd assortment of clothes and both of our blond hair.  She was no slender woman, but she bustled over to us and gestured us to a plush love seat with surprising speed.

“Si.” I smiled at her, warmed by her instant friendliness.

“Ah.  You will be wanting something a little more…” she trailed off, looking Luca over as if she were sizing him up.

“Modern?” he offered unexpectedly, breaking into that characteristic goofy grin that I loved so much.  The shop owner and I laughed along with him as she ushered us over to the men’s section.

“I do not have much, but you can find something to fit, I think.” She started pulling things off the shelf like a madwoman, tossing them all into Luca’s slightly overwhelmed arms. “There.  Try these.” She pulled a curtain aside and helped Luca into a dressing room.  “You have questions, you ask.  Okay?”  Luca nodded and she bustled off as other customers began to trickle into the shop.

I sat outside the dressing room for a few minutes, nervously hoping that Luca was alright.

“Lia,” he whispered finally, “I don’t know what I’m doing.” He confessed.

“The tags always go in the back.” I whispered back, trying not to giggle.

“Tags?”

“The little bits of fabric with words on them.”

“Oh.”  There was a pause.

“These clothes are so soft.” He said, sounding thoroughly amazed.

“I know.  Just put them on.” I said, shaking my head.

A few minutes later, he emerged, dressed in a pair of dark-wash jeans and a maroon button-down shirt.  He looked amazing.  Definitely out of place, but I was going to have to work pretty hard to keep the Italian women away from my man.

“How do I look?” He asked, spinning around for me to see.

“Extraordinary.” I replied, standing up to give him a little peck on the cheek.

We bought him a few outfits, then headed into Sienna, toward Il Campo.  Luca gaped at everything and I tried to explain the sights as best I could.  As we were walking through the square, I spotted a gelato stand.

“Wait here.” I told Luca, making a beeline for the delicious frozen treat.  I bought raspberry for myself and chocolate for Luca.  He took the cone hesitantly, eyeing it suspiciously.

“What is this?” He asked dubiously.

“It’s gelato.  Might be the yummiest thing you try today.” I said, promptly attacking the deliciousness with vigor.  Luca hesitantly licked the ice cream and his eyes lit up.

“What is this?” He said again, this time enthusiastically.

“I told you you’d like it.  Do you want to try mine?”

What are you thinking?

