Refiner’s Fire

My friend wrote this amazing reflection. My pet sin is procrastination, but a bunch of the principles really struck home with me.

the fabric of grace

“Our souls demand Purgatory, don’t they? Would it not break the heart if God said to us, “It is true, my son, that your breath smells and your rags drip with mud and slime, but we are charitable here and no one will upbraid you with these things, nor draw away from you. Enter into joy”? Should we not reply, “With submission, sir, and if there is no objection, I’d rather be cleansed first.” “It may hurt, you know”—even so, sir.”
C.S. Lewis, “The Great Divorce”

This is hands-down my favorite book I’ve ever read, and this is one of my favorite parts. I don’t have the book in front of me, but if I remember correctly, let me give you a little back story…

This is the narrators encounter with the Ghost with the Lizard. This ghost literally has a lizard sitting on his shoulder that’s whispering in…

View original post 1,014 more words

What are you thinking?

